Malta Council for the Voluntary Sector (2022 – 2025)

The Selection process of the board members of the Malta Council for the Voluntary Sector has now almost been concluded. Following the call for nominations in November 2022, both for Sections A and B as per VO Act the processes, according to each section, are now concluded with the exception for the representative for Gozo, where there were no nominations.

Under Section A, referring to the four members nominated by the sector and appointed by the Minister from among the Voluntary sector, the following members are to be appointed:

(a) Member representing founders of and donors to voluntary organisations – Ms. Doreen Borg Zammit – National Council of Women (VO/0020)
(b) Member representing members of voluntary organisations and volunteers – Ms. Norma Camilleri – Association of Speech-Language Pathologists (VO/0301)
(c) Member representing administrators of voluntary organisations – Ms. Laura Cunningham – Malta Sports Journalists Association (VO/1674)
(d) Member representing foreign and international organisations – Mr. Edward Gruppetta – Malta Red Cross Society (VO/0086)

Under Section B, referring to the six members nominated and elected by the sector, the following members are to be appointed:

(a) Member elected from the Social and Humanitarian Sector – Mr. Paul Sultana – The Maltese Association of the Members of the Sovereign Military Hospitaller Order of St. John of Jerusalem, of Rhodes and of Malta (VO/1885)
(b) Member elected from the Health and Special Needs Sector – Ms. Gertrude Buttigieg – Malta Health Network (VO/0076)
(c) Member elected from the Education, Youth and Sport Sector – Mr. Leslie Bonnici – The Scout Association of Malta (VO/0311)
(d) Member elected from the Environmental Sector and the Animal Welfare Sector – Mr. Jorge Spiteri – Malta Youth in Agriculture Foundation (VO/0823)
(e) Member elected from the Arts and Culture sector – Mr. Paul Mifsud – Għaqda Nazzjonali Każini tal-Banda (VO/0055)

With regards to the member representing Gozo, since no nominations were submitted, a new call for nominations was issued closing on Friday 17th February 2023.